Thursday, February 05, 2009

She's chomping at the bit...

Starting tomorrow, this year’s installment of everyone’s favorite (OK, maybe second-favorite) movie poll is hitting the Internets. That’s right, it’s time once again for the Muriel Awards!

What, not excited yet? Well, you should be. After all, we’ve got plenty of new goodies to go along with all of your old favorite Muriels traditions- that is, if you can call something two years old a tradition. I’d tell you what they are, but that would ruin the surprise, now wouldn’t it?

One thing I can tell you is that we’ve almost doubled our voting body since last year to a whopping 37 (shaddup, Clerks fans) voters. This year’s Muriel Awards perpetrators are:

Jason Alley
Danny Baldwin
Kent Beeson
Andrew Bemis
Scott Black
Chuck Bowen
Sean Burns
Steven Carlson
Alexander Coleman
Dennis Cozzalio
Ari Dassa
Evan Derrick
Andrew Dignan
Jim Emerson
James Frazier
Daniel Getahun
Craig Kennedy
Adam Lemke
Michael Lieberman
Benjamin Lim
Craig Lindsey
Matt Lotti
Martin McClellan
Jeff McMahon
Lucas McNelly
Matt Noller
Phil Nugent
Jason Overbeck
Mark Pfeiffer
Nathaniel Rogers
Jenny Sekwa
Justine Smith
Hedwig Van Driel
Scott Von Doviak
Bryan Whitefield
Patrick Williamson
… and, of course, me.

So tune in tomorrow night for the announcement of this year’s first Muriel Award. And come back every night thereafter for the presentation of another award, leading up to the announcement of the Golden Muriel for the Best Picture of 2008 on Sunday, February 22. That’s right, Muriel’s taking on the Oscars, and we’re confident that she’ll school them with her impeccable taste.



The anticipation! I'm chomping at the bit--em, cage--just like Muriel...

Dennis Cozzalio said...

Oh, boy, this is gonna be great! -- Kent Dorfman

Andrew Dignan said...

Not to be a pain but my link is screwed up. It's sending people to Jim Emerson's Scanners blog.